Readers Rut

I’ve been stuck in a bit of a reading rut lately. This usually happens to me when I read a lot of books in a short period of time, mostly in the same genre. I just run out of book energy. Changing genres usually works to pull me out. The only thing that seems to help with this most recent rut is to keep reading books of the same genre.
My genre of choice as of late is YA Fantasy and Adventure. At first I tried to switch to some adult books, some mystery and a little romance. Even some YA Historical fiction. It took me days, even weeks to finish a book if I even finished it all. The author was not to blame the books were actually pretty good, it’s me I’m in a rut. I know, I sound like a bad breakup line, it’s not you it’s me.
The light at the end of this reading rut tunnel seemed to be more fantasy and adventure. I think I’m finally pulling out of it. The fantasy and adventures take you to a new world to escape your own. The literary works that have seen me through this hard time are Legend by Marie Lu, and so far the first 58 pages of Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me?
Legend is a must read. Working in a bookstore I make a lot of reading recommendations. Books like the Hunger Games trilogy are a tough act to follow so its might job to help young readers fill that void. The main characters, June and and Day meet when June sets out to track down her brother’s killer. A cat and mouse chase ensues and June must decide whether she truly believes Day is a murderer or if he was framed. Action packed with romance thrown in makes this a book that I can recommend for boys and girls. I’ve already preordered the sequel, Prodigy.
As for Shatter Me I only started this afternoon but I’m hooked. I’ll let you know soon what I think of the remaining 280 pages.
If fantasy and adventure is what is going to keep me out of that rut, then I’m lining them up in my to be read (TBR) pile.

20130110-225426.jpg

Leave a Reply

