Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and Bookish. I’m sorry I haven’t posted since the last Top Ten Tuesday. But I’ve been reading slow and trying to get some posts written and lined up to post so any of my bog readers (or just mom, hi mom) didn’t have to wait so long just until I finish a book.

I work in a bookstore so a lot of times I get so excited about a book I see on the shelf and my employee discount that I buy a lot of books. Some of them end up sitting on my shelf for a while. So here is my round up of books for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday…

Top Ten Books I HAD to Buy … But Are still Sitting On My Shelf

 blogttt3.19

1. Across the Universe – I picked this up because I heard a lot of good things. Shortly after purchasing I decided to put it aside and wait to read it until the third and final book in the series, Shades of Earth came out. Well the pub day of the third book has come and gone but its still on my shelf.

2. A Casual Vacancy – I had to buy JK Rowling’s Post-Potter debut! But I know its not going to win my heart like Harry Potter so I’m scared to start it.

3. Bossy Pants – Tina Fey is one of my favorite ladies so I feel guilty that this is still sitting on my bookshelf.

4. & 5. An Abundance of Katherines and Looking for Alaska – After reading and LOVING The Fault in Our Stars I bought the John Green boxed set. These two still sit in the box unread.

6. Grimm’s Fairytales – I am in love with ABC’s Once Upon a Time so I asked for this Christmas so I could read the original fairytales.  It’s a pretty leather-bound edition with a ribbon bookmark. But yet again, remains unopened.

7. Beautiful Creatures series – I bought all of these when Kami Garcia came to our store on a book tour. She wrote Jillian is a … then she crossed out the s in creatures so it read “Jillian is a Beautiful Creature.” I think I might be afraid to ruin such an awesome signed copy. I must read before I see the movie though.

8. Girl of Fire and Thorns – I have heard nothing but rave reviews about this book and the e-book was only $2, yet still unread.

9. Jellicoe Road – Again another unread e-book that was only like 2 dollars that I heard was an amazing read.

10. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter – My brother-in-law read it and liked it. I bought it at a time that we were exchanging books and movie suggestions and I saw it on the bargain table and had to have it.  And like the rest, this remains unread.

I just want to add that this post gave me a crick in my neck because the dog did not approve of the attention I was giving my computer and not her. She jumped into my lap, pushed aside the computer and fell asleep. So the computer and my upper body are slanted to the right and half falling off the couch, but she’s too cute to move!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf

  1. Some people have a hard time getting into the Beautiful Creatures series, others love it. I am in the category of people that LOOOOOOVE it. It’s kind of slow, but it’s the type of book that slowly slithers into your heart and before you realize it, you are totally in love with the world, the plot, the characters.

    After I read The Fault in Our Stars, I was like, “I LOVE JOHN GREEN. I MUST READ EVERYTHING HE’S EVER WRITTEN EVER.” Yeah, hasn’t happened. As much as I would love to, I haven’t even bought any of his other books. But, a fun fact: When I was at choir camp last summer there were 2 people there that gushed over TFiOS with me.

    My Top Ten 🙂

  2. A little update. I finally read Looking for Alaska. I liked it, but I feel like it had a lot of similarities to Paper Towns, which I really liked. So having read LFA after Paper Towns I didn’t like it a much as I could have.

Leave a Reply

