Books A-Z

Jamie from The Perpetual Page Turner posted a fun A to Z survey that’s completely book related. I used to do these on MySpace and I love talking books so I thought I’d join in on the fun.
Here goes…

Author you’ve read the most books from:
Sarah Dessen. I’ve read all of her books at least once and own them all.

Best Sequel Ever:
Sometimes sequels just aren’t that great. But one that I thought of right away was Catching Fire. Hunger Games was amazing, Catching Fire kicked it up a notch. But Mockingjay was a little bit of a bore.

Currently Reading:
I just started Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I’m only on 14 but so far so good!

Drink of Choice While Reading:
I usually drink a glass of iced tea while reading. (And right now while writing this!)

E-reader or Physical Book?
Nothing beats the physical book. I do have a nook that I love, but prefer reading the actual book.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:
Dex from This Lullaby. Swoon. Nerdy, sweet, musical. Again, swoon

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:
Shadow and Bone. A lot of times when I pick up a fantasy book if there’s a lot of names place and other words that I can’t pronounce I’ll put it back down. It started off slow and unpronounceable but I stuck with it and devoured it and Siege and Storm shortly after.

Hidden Gem Book:
I don’t know that I have a hidden gem book. A lot of the books I’ve been reading lately are books that I’ve found recommended by lots of readers, so there not so much hidden.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:
Early on it was Harry Potter. Definitely was my I love reading moment. Then much later when I went away to school my reading slowed a lot I never had time and just couldn’t stick with a book. More recently my important moment was discovering Epic Reads. This opened me up to finding so many awesome books, authors and blogs. And giveaways too, I’ve won a lot a books lately.

Just Finished:
Siege and and Storm, by Leigh Bardugo. So good, 2014 is too far away to wait for the sequel!

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:
Its not that I wont read any certain kind of books. I guess it just happens subconsciously. Like I mentioned before, I stay away from heavy books with crazy unpronounceable names and places. I also tend to stay away from historical fiction for some reason.

Longest Book You’ve Read:
Probably a Harry Potter book.

Major book hangover because of:
Hmm…5th Wave. It was so exciting and I didn’t know at the time that it was going to be a trilogy. I had a little bit left and I couldn’t imagine how he was going to wrap it up, when BAM! It ended and I just wanted more, more, more.

Number of Bookcases You Own:
I have one in my room, it’s actually the footboard of my bed. But it has all books from like middle school on it. So all my books now are scattered throughout the house.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
This Lullaby, sarah Dessen. Definitely read it at least four times.

Preferred Place To Read:
Laying on the couch, or in the car.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:
Fate doesn’t punch a time clock — Sarah Dessen, The Moon and More

Reading Regret:
Putting down Code Name Verity. I know everyone who has read it RAVES about it. But I had a rough time starting it and put it down. But the author is coming to my Barnes and Noble in September, and I wish I stuck with it. Now I’ll have to start all over.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):
Delirium trilogy. I read Delirium and Pandemonium but haven’t read Requiem when it came out I was afraid I’d forgotten everything and didn’t get around to retreading 1 & 2.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:
This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen
Fault in our Stars John Green
And…there’s too many to name!… Harry Potter series can that count as one?

Unapologetic Fangirl For:
Sarah Dessen. As mentioned before, I own them all, read most of them twice. She’s one of my auto buy authors. Those boys a just so swoonworthy!

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:
Very excited for release of Champion (Marie Lu) and Taherah Mafi’s Ignite Me. I’m dying to see how these series end and the covers are gorgeous!

Worst Bookish Habit:
I have book OCD. I do not dog ear or write in my books. I hide them so my sister doesn’t take them. She bends them, gets them dirty, loses them etc. In my younger years I used to take the covers off hardbacks leave them lying around so I either lost them or completely ruined them so a lot of my favorites like sisterhood of the traveling pants are cover less. I’m much wiser now.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
I don’t really have a bookcase so ill pick one of the closest books to me now… And it is Another Little Piece Kate Karyus Quinn, which I won on Mindy McGinnis’ blog, and then Kate sent awesome ALP swag.

Your latest book purchase:
Code Name Verity. I was so disappointed in myself that I put it down without reading it. So I bought vowing to myself that I would try again before she came to do a book signing at my Barnes and Nobles.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):
Siege and Storm, I was dying to finish so I just kept reading and reading, even though I had to wake up early for work the next day.

This was so much fun! Don’t forget to check out Jamie’s blog too!

3 thoughts on “Books A-Z

  1. Jill what a coincidence, I had won a giveaway and the choice was giftcard or Another Little Piece, a signed copy and you wouldn’t believe I actually chose the giftcard, silly!!! That’s a regret for me 😦

    Since your a huge Sarah Dessen fan, which would you recommend? I want to love Sarah Dessen but I read Lock & Key and whilst it was enjoyable it wasn’t FANTASTIC like most people say.

    I’ve been looking forward to starting Sarah J Maas series…how are you liking it so far?

    That’s really disappointing that Mockingjay was a bore, how anti climatic 😦

    A-Z Survey

  2. Hi thanks for commenting! As for the Sarah Dessen, give This Lullaby a try. It’s my favorite. Some of hers were better than others, I didn’t completely enjoy her most recent one.
    Throne of Glass is so good so far, I’m really enjoying it. I work a lot though so I’m not getting a whole lot of time to read now so I’m dying for the weekend so I can relax and devour the rest.
    Thanks for stopping by ill def be stopping by yours now!

  3. I loved ‘The Fault in Our Stars.” It really caught me by surprise because I’m super picky about YA but that book had me bawling.

    Oh it just about kills me when people dog ear their books, so I’m glad I’m not alone in that matter.

    Thanks for sharing! I just added some books to my to-read list.

Leave a comment