Best of 2013

I did it! I completed my reading goal for 2013. Last January I set the reading goal of 72 books, which would even out to 6 books a month.  Well I read a grand total of 79 books!  I did not read 6 books for 4 months out the year, but made up for it by reading 8-10 books for most of the remaining months. I made this goal on Good Reads but completely failed to log them in, instead I kept a book journal and wrote everything down.  I wrote down books on my TBR pile and its out of control, 3 pages and still going strong. I also felt like a failure when it came to keeping this blog alive.  For now, Im on Tumblr a lot more so if you’re reading this, also check my page out over there at http://spillbyjill.tumblr.com/

I read so many great books this year and discovered so many talented authors. I attribute this to the wonders of social media. Follow a few authors on Twitter and find that they interact on a daily basis with a dozen more. They talk about their books, the writing process, the books they’re reading etc. Its so awesome to see some of your fave authors talking to each other (Ransom Riggs and Taherah Mafi got married!!! and they tweet with Sarah Dessen!)

Here I pick a favorite book I read from each month of 2013. Also, check out my entire reading list for 2013.

January: Legend by Marie Lu

February: Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

March: Unearthly and Hallowed by Cynthia Hand.

April: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. 

May: 5th Wave by Rick Yancy

June: Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler 

July: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

August: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

September: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

October: Not A Drop to Drink by Mindy Mcginnis

November: The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

December: Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller

(SO HARD TO CHOOSE! SO MANY GOOD BOOKS)

HAPPY 2014! For the new year I’ve upped my goal a little.  I will strive to read 84 books this year, which equals 7 books a month. I also hope to remember to add the books into Goodreads to track my progress. 

I’ve also set goals for my writing and hope to blog more.  Ill be back from time to time so come again soon!! 

Leave a Reply

